Announcing The Ultimate Results Coaching Academy Conference

Learn from some of the world's top coaches in this free online conference!

From left to right: Lauren Boyle, Alex Davis, and Kaitlyn Lovatt.
From left to right: Lauren Boyle, Alex Davis, and Kaitlyn Lovatt.

This post is sponsored by Ultimate Results.

The Ultimate Results Coaching Academy Conference (URCA 2015), sponsored by Five Ultimate, will kick off on August 2nd and end August 7th. You can register for the conference for free and access live talks anywhere with a good internet connection.

At Ultimate Results, we believe the future of ultimate, both its growth and trajectory, will be determined by its coaches. And so many coaches have developed fantastic materials and techniques for instructing ultimate, but there’s a gap. Even as more resources have been developed, it’s not always easy to share this information. So that’s the goal of URCA: sharing best practices in ultimate coaching around the world.

Last year’s conference was the inaugural event and drew 1300 registrants. In this second year of the URCA conference we are excited to bring another excellent lineup of speakers and presentations. There are top coaches from the US, Canada, New Zealand, and the UK, such as Tiina Booth (Amherst, UMass), DeAnna Ball (OSU), Matt Tsang (Fury, Team USA), Alex Davis (Furious George, Team Canada), Liam Kelly (UK Ultimate), and many more. Topics range from developing athleticism in youth athletes to building championship teams through a focus on individual coaching.

We know that coaches want to be exposed to new ideas and they want an emphasis on practicality. URCA aims to do both and one of the methods was collecting feedback from the 2014 conference. This year’s presentation by Alex Davis is a great example of that collaboration. Alex was surprised to learn that sub calling was a highly requested topic. But he agreed to tackle it with a unique perspective using statistical analysis. And furthermore, he’ll be relying on survey data from the ultimate community to inform his talk. (You can fill out the survey and pass it on to your teams here).

URCARegistration is free. We want this information accessible and shared with a wide audience. But for anyone who wants to dive in deeper and support the conference, you can can purchase a VIP pass. For just $97, you’ll get lifetime access to recordings of all presentations. You’ll also gain entry into a private Facebook group with the speakers and have access to extra downloads and presentation notes.

You can win a FREE VIP Pass by simply entering the contest at the bottom of this article!

The conference kicks off on August 2nd at 4 PM EDT (8 PM UTC) with a keynote address from WFDF President Rob “Nob” Rauch titled: “How Disc Sports Fit into the Olympic Movement: Governance and Competition” and will continue through August 7 with multiple sessions every day. Register today and come be a part of URCA 2015!

More Information

Register for free now

About the speakers
Follow on Facebook
Follow on Twitter

Speakers and Schedule

Sunday August 2

16:00 EDT, 20:00 UTC
Keynote Address: How Disc Sports Fit into the Olympic Movement: Governance and Competition
Rob “Nob” Rauch

Monday August 3

14:00 EDT, 18:00 UTC
How to Plan Focused Scrimmages Your Players Will Love!
Melissa Witmer

19:00 EDT, 23:00 UTC
One at a Time, All at the Same Time: Finding the Balance Between being a Player, Coach, and Captain of the Same Team
Mario O’Brien

Tuesday August 4

12:00 EDT, 16:00 UTC
Keep Them Coming Back for More: How to Retain Players and Grow your Program
Lauren Boyle

14:00 EDT, 18:00 UTC
The Realities of being an Emerging Sport: Drills, Tips, and Suggestions for Practices with Limited Players or Field Space
Josh Hartzog

19:00 EDT, 23:00 UTC
Thinking & Feeling: The Building Blocks of Creating Cutters
Keith Raynor

21:00 EDT, 01:00 AM UTC
Coaching is Not (Just) a Team Sport: Focus on Individual Player Improvement to Build Championship Teams
Mike Payne

Wednesday August 5

13:00 EDT, 17:00 UTC
Developing Athleticism in Youth Teams (Middle/High School)
Ren Caldwell

19:00 EDT, 23:00 UTC
A Team Approach to Man Defence
Kaitlyn Lovatt & Carla DiFilippo

21:00 EDT, 01:00 AM UTC
Dumps, Swings, Breaks, Oh My: Attacking Lateral Space and Using the Width of the Field
Alex Snyder

Thursday August 6

19:00 EDT, 23:00 UTC
Managing Multiple Skill Levels: It’s Not One Size Fits All
DeAnna Ball

21:00 EDT, 01:00 UTC
Better Learning, Better Drills (Skills Acquisition in Ultimate)
Liam Kelly

Friday August 7

9:00 EDT, 13:00 UTC
Strategy, Subs and Stats: The Science Behind Calling Lines
Alex Davis

19:00 EDT, 23:00 PM UTC
Losing Control: The Development of Future Leaders
Marc van der Poest-Clement

Also including: Matt Tsang & Tiina Booth! Sessions to be announced soon!

Register Now!

Win A Free VIP Pass

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  1. Ultiworld
    Avatar

    Ultiworld is the premier news media site dedicated to the sport of ultimate. This article includes the work of a number of our staff or contributors that have been identified within the piece.

TAGGED: , , , ,

More from Ultiworld
Comments on "Announcing The Ultimate Results Coaching Academy Conference"

Find us on Twitter

Recent Comments

Find us on Facebook

Subscriber Exclusives

  • Mailbag: Overhauling USAU’s Approach to Events
    Subscriber article
  • Deep Look: Radical Rethinking of Ultimate
    Includes bonus segment
  • Cash Line [An Ultiworld Disc Golf Newsletter] - Issue #6
    Subscriber newsletter
  • Sin The Fields: The Hex — A Revolution or Complete Nonsense?
    Includes bonus segment