Mya Hernandez, Joe “Smash” Anderson Win the 2021 Spirit & Equity Award

Mya Hernandez (left) and Joe “Smash” Anderson. Photo: Kevin Leclaire —

Mya Hernandez and Joe “Smash” Anderson — players for Ann Arbor Hybrid and Fort Collins Shame, respectively — were named the winners of the 2021 Spirit and Equity Award.

The Spirit and Equity Award, established in 2016, is given to one men- and one women-matching player in the mixed division, and it “honors athletes who have exhibited personal integrity, responsibility and fairness, along with a commitment to enhancing equity in play and in their communities.”

Hernandez has been a standout cutter for Hybrid on their run to the national final. Anderson has been a driving force behind Shame’s rise to the elite ranks of the mixed division.

“I am grateful for all the sport has given back to me,” Anderson told Ultiworld.

  1. Charlie Eisenhood
    Charlie Eisenhood

    Charlie Eisenhood is the editor-in-chief of Ultiworld. You can reach him by email ( or on Twitter (@ceisenhood).

More from Ultiworld
Comments on "Mya Hernandez, Joe “Smash” Anderson Win the 2021 Spirit & Equity Award"

Find us on Twitter

Recent Comments

Find us on Facebook

Subscriber Exclusives

  • Deep Look: Olympic Failure, WJUC, Elite-Select
    podcast with bonus segment
  • Club Power Rankings [8/17/22]
    article with bonus content
  • Better Box Score Metrics: Playoff Week 1
    Subscriber article
  • Mailbag: International Ultimate Edition
    Subscriber article