To all our readers,

Your support is vital to us. Really, we can't exist without you. And our subscriptions offer much more than access to video: you get our members-only podcast and podcast extras, exclusive articles, the chance to vote on our livestreams and filmed games, the ability to turn off ads and improve your site experience, and more. You can learn more and sign up right here. Thank you.
52% funded
263 New Subscribers
9 days to go

Rule Check: Was Brian Schoenrock’s Highlight Catch Actually A Foul?

Sound off in the comments.

Drag'N Thrust's Brian "Strings" Schoenrock. Photo: Daniel Thai -- UltiPhotos.com
Drag’N Thrust’s Brian “Strings” Schoenrock. Photo: Daniel Thai — UltiPhotos.com

There has been a lot of buzz about Drag’N Thrust’s Brian “Strings” Schoenrock’s big catch in the semifinal against Slow White. The play has been hyped by USA Ultimate and made the SportsCenter Top 10 last night at #3.

Drag’N Thrust’s Dave Klink put up a backhand huck to Schoenrock, cutting from right to left. Slow White’s Ryan Richardson was in a good position, but Schoenrock leapt over him to make a spectacular catch. However, there was a lot of heavy contact on the play.

Richardson initially called a foul, but was talked out of it by the Slow White coach and a teammate. Watch multiple angles here:

Brian Schoenrock Diving Catch

Many online have said that this play was a foul and shouldn’t be promoted (check out the mentions on Twitter).

Kyle Weisbrod has been asking USA Ultimate to publicly state whether or not this play is a foul:

Weisbrod #1

Weisbrod #2

What do you think? Was this a clean play? Or was it a foul?

  1. Charlie Eisenhood
    Charlie Eisenhood

    Charlie Eisenhood is the editor-in-chief of Ultiworld. You can reach him by email (charlie@ultiworld.com) or on Twitter (@ceisenhood).

TAGGED: , , , , , , ,

TEAMS: ,

More from Ultiworld
Comments on "Rule Check: Was Brian Schoenrock’s Highlight Catch Actually A Foul?"

Find us on Twitter

Recent Comments

Find us on Facebook